How About Fewer Bells and Whistles in Visual Studio?

I have to go with the less is more stance of some of the response posts on this one. I prefer a lightweight group of tools that do their one thing well over mega-applications that try to jam it all into one interface. If there has to be a web enabled feature of Visual Studio then it should be to copy any MSDN related help items to your local computer so you can developed detached from the network. Other than that, if I truly want to team develop then I can walk my lazy ass over to the other person’s desk or I can agree to do some VNC and cell phone conferencing. Development environments should be clean, elegant, focused on core features, and easy to navigate and use. Microsoft needs to take a closer look at Eclipse!

A View from Elsewhere : A “Live” Version of Visual Studio?

About this entry